HomeUncategorized2021 Hampton Downs Preview

2021 Hampton Downs Preview

Round 2 of the North Island Endurance Series will take place at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park on the National Circuit this weekend Friday 28th and Saturday 29th May.

The amount of 2Hour competitors has doubled for Round 2 after a successful first round with the competitors. The two BMW 235i of Wayne Leach and Paul Burborough and the Todd and Rhys Bawden entry have switched across from the 3Hour race while the V8 Ute of Phil Ross will make up the new entries in Class 1.

Photo courtesy of Matt Smith

Class 2 will see the addition of two E36 BMW’s of Brad Wilson and Sanjay Kumar as well as David and Codie Banks entry while Brendan Murphy and Brock Cooley have entered the Ex-Lochlainn Fitzgerald Symes Seat Leon Supercopa.

Class 3 has seen addition of two Toyota 86’s of Marco Giltrap and Simon Evans with Mark Mallard will also join the fun with newly crowned BMW 2Litre Champion Graham Ball taking co-driving duties. The rest of new entrants are an invasion of 2K Cup Cars.

Up the front Shane Parsons and Lindsay Lyons will be looking to go back to back while the Seat Leon Supercopa of Allan Sargeant, Scott Smith and Shaun van Beers will be looking to make up from Round 1. The two BMW 235i of Wayne Leach and Paul Burborough and Todd and Rhys Bawden won’t be worth dismissing while David Grigor and Ken Hunter will be looking to pick up any falling pieces that may fall their way.

Photo courtesy of Matt Smith

The 1Hour will see an over 25 car grid take to circuit GT-B will see the raft of new entries which contain the two Holden V8 Super Tourers of Tim Edgell and Brady Wild who has purchased the Ex-Simon Evans car which he has drafted Simon for co-driving duties. Plus, two Porsche of the 991 MR TT of Conal Dempsey who withdrew from Round 1 and the 991 Gen 2 of David McAlpine and Kynan Yu.

GT-C will also see new cars with Brent Forman in his McLaren 570S GT4 while Wayne Leach and Paul Burborough will race their newly acquired Ferrari 458 Challenge.

While Rhys Gould will have several Class 2 Competitors to race against this time round with Gene Rollinson switching to the Hyundai i30N after the Lamborghini couldn’t be repaired in time as well as the BMW’s of Matt Griffin and Grant Baguley.

While the question remains can Anthony Leighs beat Glenn Smith and John de Veth for outright win, or will John Midgley be able to snatch victory if the cards start falling his way.  

In the 3Hour Geoff Short has appeared in the Entry List driving an Audi R8 GT3 while the Renault R.S. 01 will make its debut in the hands of Shane Helms and Greg Murphy.

Neil Foster and Jonny Reid will be determined to spoil the Herat of Racing party while Lance Hughes and Chris van der Drift showed promising pace last time out.  

Courtesy of Aaron Staples photography

Leave a comment