HomeUncategorizedNew Zealand Endurance Racing Final 2019

New Zealand Endurance Racing Final 2019

With the Eneos North Island Endurance Series and the Carters Tyre Service South Island Endurance Series it is time once again for both Islands to battle it out for the New Zealand Endurance Championship at Hampton Downs International Circuit on Saturday the 16th of November were the North Island cars will compete against the South Island Cars.

This year will be the first time that the New Zealand Endurance Racing Final will be held on the International Circuit.

For the 1hour race the guys to look out for in GT-B and Outright are the Chester’s Pluming & Bathrooms Holden Commodore VZ Supercar of Nick Chester and John Midgley in his ex-Shane van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG V8 Super Tourer racing the North Island or will South Islander Jarrod Owens in his Porsche 997 Cup S will be looking to make redemption after the race win was taken away from last year due to a post-race penalty. Unfortunately, we won’t be seeing German ace Marco Schelp in his Porsche 997 Cup S due to an engine failure at the last South Island Endurance Series.

In Class 1 3501cc and Over Andy Duffin in his Triple Rotary Mazda RX7 will be hot favour to take this class out also look out for Deon Cooper in his Highly modify SsangYong Actyon Super Ute, Glen Chapel in his diesel -powered BMW E87 150D and don’t forget about Cameron McCormack driving his Porsche 996 Carrera Cup car

Jordan Michels is set to be the only TCR car contesting in 1hour at this stage in his Honda Civic Type R FK7 while in Class 2 battle is set heat up with Paul Muldoon in his Honda Civic EK, Wade Stevenson in his Subaru Legacy and Nick Archibald in his Subaru WRX STI who has been contesting the South Island Series for some extra race miles also keep a look out for Paul Verryt in his Hamilton Asphalts Honda Integra DC2 who is looking to put his new car issues behind him.

While in Class 3 at this stage it will be a dual between Todd Foster in the Toyota 86 for the North Island and Tim Dossett in the Honda Civic EF for the South Island

Moving into the 3 Hour we have got not one not two but three Audi R8’s competing in GT-A of Neil Foster and Jonny Reid as well as Ben Byers and Christina Orr – West which they will be racing for the South Island while the Udy brothers Dan and Jon will race their Audi R8 for the North Island however, Gene Rollinson and Rhys Gould will swapping their Hyundai i30N TCR car they use in the South Island for a Lamborghini Gallardo R-EX GT3 also keep a look out for series stalwarts Glenn Smith & John de Veth in their McLaren 650 S in the 3Hour and Conal Dempsey in his Porsche 991 MR Twin Turbo alongside John Penny will complete the GT-A line up.  

In GT-B it looks like at this stage to be a dual between Anthony Leighs and Paul Kelly in their Porsche 991 Gen 2 verse Former offshore Power Boat racer Greg Brink and Stephan Harrison in their newly imported Aston Martin Vantage GT4.

Class 1 will see DFM debut their new Audi A5 with Matt Dovey and Jono Lester taking driving duties. They will have stiff competition though with Golden Holmes Race Lab Audi TT VLN of Shane Helms and Rob Bolland both cars will represent the North Island while we will also have Ben Coffin and Sam Bushell in their Mazda RX7 representing the South Island

The Honda Civic Type R FK2 of Capri Racing is the sole TCR car at this stage, were Lochlainn Fitzgerald Symes will make his racing return after a nasty road car accident he will be joined by Matt Penney While David Rogers and Brian Green will represent the South Island in their impressive looking Class 2 Mitsubishi Evo10.

The ones to look out for in Class 3 are Geoff Manks and Marty Brown in their Toyota 86 Robert & Jeff Drum in their Subaru BRZ, we will also have Marty McCullough and Ian Foster in their Honda Integra DC5 alongside their sons Matthew McCullough and Liam Foster in their Honda Civic EP3.

Once again the Final Endurance races for 2019 are set to give some fantastic racing across the 1Hour and 3Hour make sure you get yourself trackside.  The Island that collects the most points during the two races will win the NZ Endurance Island Trophy.

Leave a comment